Day 6 – Beetroot Dip & Chili Beans & Rice

Howdy online conscience!

I’ve had another good day and am feeling pretty good about my progress. I had a long sleep in (one of the benefits of being unemployed, though one I’m trying not to indulge in too much!) so my meals were all out of whack.

Breakfast / Lunch: Muesli

A cup of muesli and full cream milk (I’d usually use low fat, one of the few ‘low fat’ items I’ll buy, but we were all out) after coffee in bed (thanks hubby!). I’m using a measuring cup to make sure I keep my portions in check, esp as it has dried fruit in it (high sugar!).

Lunch / Afternoon Tea: Homemade beetroot dip with carrots and celery

As a semi-vegetarian (I eat some seafood but no other meat), I am conscious that I’m more vulnerable to deficiencies of some amino acids. Animal sources of protein are ‘complete’, in that all essential amino acids are present, but in most plant foods there is one or more ‘limiting’ (present in too-low quantities) or absent amino acids – usually tryptophan, methionine and lysine. For that reason I make an effort to include foods rich in these amino acids into my diet.

For trytophan (so important for health, particularly as the precurser to the neurotransmitter serotonin), that means oats, cottage cheese, eggs, fish and nuts. This dip has the double benefit of the nutrients in cottage cheese (tryptophan and other amino acids as well as calcium, vitamins B2 and B12, selenium and phosphorus) and beetroot (folate, vit C, iron and manganese) and giving me something healthy to snack on between meals. The only downside is the high sodium.

Beetroot dip

250g low or full fat cottage cheese (preferably low-sodium)
1 tin of beetroot (in an ideal world it would be fresh, roasted beets)
Pepper to taste

Blend all ingredients until they reach a consistency that you like, and serve with carrots, celery or other crudites.

Dinner: Chili beans & rice with sour cream 

Chili beans

My lovely husband made dinner tonight, and as he was making a vegetarian version of what he felt like (chili con carne) I didn’t think I should badger him about how to make it! It turned out delicious – he used the wok to fry off some chopped garlic and three chopped habernero chilis from our garden, then added kidney beans, four bean mix and cumin and other spices. He served it with some Uncle Ben’s rice and a HUGE pile of sour cream but it was totally fantastic… full of carbs, but at least the beans component was healthy.

Alcohol: None (yay)

Exercise

I did 3 mins of skipping, followed by a 9 min “Workout Trainer” workout, followed by 15 mins of yoga. I’ve been following Ester Ekhart’s yoga practices on Youtube and can’t recommend her enough (though caution obviously applies… some conditions like sciatica can be exacerbated by certain poses). Today I did these routines: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bv6IJBehD6Uhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrSKr4G67f4&list=UUFYsO0t3zj0eJ_NcOlowTSA&index=5&feature=plcp and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoxHWUb-SrM&list=UUFYsO0t3zj0eJ_NcOlowTSA&index=3&feature=plcp.

At sunset – a little earlier than normal, so it was lovely and soft pink rather than dramatic and fiery orange – we took a walk with Griffin by the water and let him have a swim. Here are a few gratuitous photos 🙂 These walks are helping the emotional / mental side to my health as well as they very much reduce anxiety and stress!

The end of our street (lucky us!)

Hubby and Griffin at the park

“Throw me the ball!”

Griffin

Sunset

Leave a Reply

