Day 10 – Good food but too much alcohol!

Day 10 – Friday

I was too nervous to eat in the morning so just had a cup of coffee before my first job interview. That went well, and I scrambled around the city (must have walked at least 3km) to get some lunch and on to the train to my next interview.

Lunch: I was able to go to my favourite sushi place – just up the road from my last work 😦 – and had a whiting and avocado roll and a ‘triple sunset’ – avocado, carrot and sweet potato with brown rice. It is not the most traditional combo but is so delicious!

The second interview also went well and I got a call back that afternoon to say I was through to the next stage – an interview Monday with the company themselves (the first step was with a recruitment agency). Fingers crossed!!!

My hubby had a few (late) Friday afternoon beers and I decided to join him… three beers, 2 glasses of red and 2 ciders (bad, bad bad!!!) later I cooked a healthy dinner. I don’t drink cider normally (too sugary!) or mix drinks (recipe for disaster) so I felt a bit ordinary the next morning, and a bit disappointed in myself. On the plus side I had a really wonderful, fun, romantic night with my hubby, so I’ll take the good with the bad!

Dinner: Spiced cous-cous with baked veggies

Veggies half way through

  • 1/2 cup cous-cous, cooked via absorption method with water, stock and sumac
  • Brussels sprouts, quartered (can’t remember how many)
  • 1 or 2 carrots, cut very thickly on the horizontal
  • Florets from a head of broccoli
  • Sesame seeds
  • Flaked almonds
  • Oil spray (I think I used canola?)
  • More sumac and some dried crushed chilli
  • Juice from 1/2 a lemon (I think…)

Bake all the veggies in the oven until brown, throwing in half the almonds and all the sesame seeds about half way through. Once done, simply add to the cous cous, drizzle with lemon juice, add the rest of the almonds and season with sumac and chilli to taste. This plate fed both hubby and me.

Sumac spiced cous-cous with baked veggies, almonds and sesame seeds

Leave a Reply

