Kick starting phase 2

So far so good!

I bought a new blender yesterday and made my very first smoothie last night… and it was delicious!

  • 1 cup organic almond milk
  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • 1 tbsp whey powder
  • 1 banana
  • 4 or 5 super small strawberries

Banana & strawberry smoothie

I stored it in a pickles jar (I’ve had this bizarre obsession with cleaning and keeping all glass jars lately…) and popped it in the fridge. I drank it first thing this morning and was so happy! It kept me nice and full until lunch. My plan to go sans-coffee was thwarted when my boss offered to shout the office (yay!) and I took advantage of a free skinny cap 😉

I ate my packed lunch (a tasty salad with leaves, capsicum, cucumber, coriander, olives, feta, tofu, cous-cous, walnuts, faux-chicken schnitzel slices, white wine vinegar and balsamic) and snacked on nuts.

The weather turned so I wasn’t able to walk Griff, but at least the air was lovely and moist and smelled fantastic!

I am usually really hungry by the time I get home, so I made a green smoothie:

  • 2 cos lettuce leaves
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 kiwi fruit
  • 1/2 cucumber
  • 1 tbsp English brewer’s yeast
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds (I bought them today – they’re awesome! Crunchy yet moist and full of nutrients…)
  • 1 can of coconut water

This made too much so I’ll reduce it by nearly 1/2 next time.

Cucumber & kiwi smoothie

Cucumber & kiwi smoothie 2

Dinner was a really basic pasta (this is for 2 serves):

  • Wholegrain spaghetti, broken into smaller pieces
  • 1 full head of broccoli
  • A handful of green beans
  • 1/2 block of tofu
  • Sesame oil, soy sauce and some white wine vinegar plashed over

I ended up having some red wine, so the plan failed on that account! I had a good night with hubby so I don’t feel too bad about it 🙂

