Long time no post!

Well, it’s been a heck of a long time since my last post and I’m finally ready to jump back on board. There have been a lot of changes to my life and blogging away about my journey to health has sadly fallen to the wayside.

An update

I have a job! Woohoo! After 7 long, anxiety-inducing weeks of unemployment I started admin work at a hospital, and 3 1/2 weeks in I’m happy to say I absolutely love it! I really appreciate the organisation’s values and work with a truly wonderful group of people.

My husband also finally started his job, nearly 3 months to the day of his interview there, and about 7 months since his last steady job. Needless to say we were both overwhelmed with relief! Last week we both got paid for the first time, and it was so wonderful to be able to pay bills and start catching up (yay!). We still have a long way to go, but at least we’ve started on that journey!

I’ve also had assessment for college and am considering taking a break next semester so I can focus on bringing my health (physical / emotional / financial) back to “centre” after a really trying year.

Health

My health and weight loss journey hasn’t really progressed since I started working… it’s on somewhat of an even keel, rather than going too far backwards, so I guess that’s something! I’m starting to find my rhythm with packed lunches and easy salads at night, but the old temptations – bought coffee (skinny cap) in the morning, bought lunches (veggie sub from Subway) and red wine at night to wind down – have reared their head again. I don’t want to fritter away my hard earned cash, so I’m working to reduce these / cut them out.

The one area that I’ve completely fallen down is exercise… I’ve done nada since starting work, apart from “incidental exercise” while dashing around the hospital, and that’s not good enough! I need to walk Griffin daily, even if that’s all I do. I really miss my yoga so need to find a space for that too.

Weight-wise, I suspect a kg or 2 have crept back on (cheers hen’s weekend (which was spectacularly difficult on a tight budget!), celebratory Indian take away, a pizza or 2, red wine at night and the frequent cheese plates catered at work…). I really, really need to get on top of this as my friend’s wedding is in 6 weeks and my dress fitting is in 2! Eeeeep!

The plan

I’ve decided to swap my unhealthy habits with healthy ones. My morning instant coffee at home plus instant or cafe bought coffee at work (and skipped or late breakfasts most days) will be replaced by a nutrient-rich smoothy and multi vitamin.

Lunch will now be brought every day – salad with egg, tofu, quinoa or veggie “meat” for protein, or steamed veg. Subway is an ok option for back up, but I need to plan to succeed!

My work provides good quality nuts so I’m going to continue to snack on them.

My husband and I love sitting at our breakfast bar when we get home and chatting over a beer or wine. I don’t want to lose this tradition so will swap my wine(s) for a veggie smoothy / juice. This will hopefully up the likelihood of taking Griff for a walk!

Dinner is nearly always healthy anyway – big salads with herbs and nuts, tofu, veggie-rich pastas, omelettes, veggie burritos, stir fries, steamed veg, etc.

So that’s the plan 🙂 It is such an immense relief to know I can count on a regular income and can afford decent food… 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

