Baked tofu + soba noodle salad + cucumber salad

To celebrate feeling better, I got back in the kitchen and tried out three new recipes for dinner. I’m pleased to report that all were a success, I managed to multi-task without burning anything, and the only casualty was the lid handle of the pot I was using to press my tofu…

I have discovered the wonderful ‘Conscious Dietitian’ website and two of these recipes were created by Rachel from that site.

Baked tofu with soy sauce and sesame oil – borrowed unadulterated from http://www.theconsciousdietitian.com/all-recipes/baked-tofu-tahini-sesame-salad-soba-noodle-salad/ (the only change being that I cooked my tofu for a bit longer) – was a winner with hubby, who really liked the texture. I made 8 pieces of tofu and have 2 for leftovers.

Soba noodle salad – borrowed from the same Conscious Dietitian post. I made a few minor alternations – 270g noodles, slightly less sesame seeds (60g) and a mixture of white vinegar and red wine vinegar as I had run out of rice wine vinegar. I used my delicious natural honey that was a gift from a friend, and chopped my spring onions / shallots more thinly, but apart from that it was a direct copy (I won’t bore you by typing it out again). This made 4 – 6 serves so we have leftovers for tomorrow night. I LOVED this recipe and it will be on high rotation from now on! Hubby even handled the ‘cold noodle’ (similar to yesterday’s ‘cold soup’, lol) with no complaints!

I was going to make just the two recipes, but realised that they might be too carb-heavy and decided to make a cucumber salad to lighten the load. It turned out that my concerns were unfounded as the soba noodle salad was lovely and light, but the cucumber tied in beautifully.

Cucumber salad with tahini dressing – I got inspiration from this recipe from Simply Recipes – http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/cucumber_salad_with_tahini_dressing/ – but made so many changes I think it’s probably worthwhile (at least for my own future reference!) writing it out again.

  • 1 large cucumber
  • Big pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp heaped tbsp tahini (I’ll use less next time)
  • 1.5 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp warm water (I might use lemon juice instead next time)
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

The method was simple – core and dice the cucumber then salt it in a colander for about 10 mins. Meanwhile, combine all the other ingredients in a large bowl and ensure the consistently is fairly runny. Rinse the cucumber, dry it off with paper towels, and add to the bowl. Refrigerate until cold and serve. This made 3 – 4 servings as a side dish. It was delish and a perfect counterpoint to the other dishes.

I might try adding red onion or garlic for some variety in the future (this time I didn’t think it needed it).

I’m still getting used to my new camera, so here are two shots of dinner:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

3 thoughts on “Baked tofu + soba noodle salad + cucumber salad

    • Thanks for stopping by! Tofu is so versatile and it’s so nice to see so many people embracing it (I remember years ago that people would look at me like a crazy person when I mentioned that I enjoy it!) – is that the case in the US as well? Jess 🙂

Leave a Reply

