Chilled tomato soup with almonds and balsamic

I’m feeling better!!! After two weeks of being a sad-sack, I finally feel like my normal self. I still get tired easily and I’m not quite 100% – but hey, any improvement is good improvement! My appetite is coming back (yaaaaaaaay) and I think I’ll start using MyFitnessPal again from Monday… I might even be able to attempt the gym!

My wonderful husband gave me my birthday present early (we’re both terrible at keeping surprises from one another) and I love it! It’s a Samsung smart camera that is brilliant on its own, plus it syncs perfectly with my phone and laptop. Win! Here’s me looking like a very excitable gumby while playing with the phone-sync features, and my lovely “puppy”.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

We spent a few soul-enriching hours at the park at the end of the street, soaking up some vitamin D and playing with our labrador. Needless to say, we all collapsed into bed pretty early last night!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So now, a recipe – Chilled tomato soup with almonds and balsamic

I had planned to use this recipe – http://uktv.co.uk/food/recipe/aid/513808 – with no changes but ended up adding a few extra ingredients to tailor it to our taste buds. My version:

Ingredients:

  • 8 tbsp blanched flaked almonds
  • 400 g canned chopped tomatoes
  • 1 red capsicum, chopped
  • 1 cucumber, chopped
  • 1 shallot (white and green parts), chopped
  • 2 tbsp chopped coriander leaves
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 4 dried chilis (fresh would have been better)
  • 1/2 tsp pink Himalayan rock salt
  • Black pepper
  • Low fat Greek yoghurt
  • Several slices of bread (I used tiger, sourdough would have been better) with crushed garlic and butter or margarine

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Method:

  1. Lightly brown the almonds in a dry (no oil) frying pan
  2. Combine the almonds with the chopped veggies, coriander, balsamic and tinned tomato  in the food processor and whiz until it reaches a smooth consistency.
  3. Add ice cubes and/or cold water to help reach the right consistency.
  4. Smash up the salt and chili in a mortar and pestle and add to the mix (I added in this step as the soup was too bland).
  5. Whiz it some more and put in the fridge to rest.
  6. When you’re ready to serve, toast the bread, spread with garlic and butter / marg.
  7. Serve with a dollop of yoghurt and a sprinkling of flaked almonds, fresh coriander and pepper.

The finished product

This was lovely and fresh but hubby confessed that he likes his soup hot – in which case, I’d have to amend the recipe (cucumber and coriander faring better raw / cold). I guess everyone’s taste buds and preferences are different! I’d be happy to eat this one again, and not just because it’s easy to make :).

Recipe nutrients (not including bread and butter) per serving:

  • Calories: 346
  • Total fat: 17.7g (the majority of this is from the flaked almonds)
    • Saturated fat: 0.7g
  • Sodium: 755.8mg
  • Potassium: 30.4mg
  • Total carbs: 23.1g
    • Dietary fibre: 2.9g
    • Sugars: 13.9g
  • Protein: 12.5g
  • Vitamin A: 15.8% RDI
  • Vitamin C: 165.2% RDI
  • Calcium: 9.9% RDI
  • Iron: 1.2% RDI
Leave a Reply

