Birthday + beetroot gazpacho

I celebrated my birthday with my immediate family at a beautiful restaurant at Southbank. We ate fresh seafood (and I drank crisp Marlborough sauvignon blanc) by the ‘beach’ and river and with the city skyline in the background, as dusk and then evening encroached – it was a lovely celebration!

I had bought a red tea length summer dress by Basque off EBAY (at a bargain) and so was feeling nice about myself too… always good on your birthday! My family and hubby spoiled me with thoughtful gifts and my workmates gave me a spectacular bunch of flowers… all in all it was a great day!

Most of my photos were of family members, so there aren’t many I can share…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

wpid-10232013174735.jpg

20131116_130702

http://www.southbanksurfclub.com.au/

During the week I also tried out a new recipe. It was ok but with a few tweaks I think it could be fantastic!

Beetroot Gazpacho

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Recipe from: http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/23836/beetroot+gazpacho

I made a few changes already – added MUCH more Greek yoghurt used mint instead of dill – but next time I will use the liquid from the beetroot tins (at least 1 of them) to add some more punch as well as to improve the consistency. I’ll also process the soup in two smaller batches to help with the processing. It was already fresh and light but I’m looking forward to trying it when it’s more “beetroot-y”! I’ll add some sliced shallots on top too.

In terms of nutrients, it’s pretty low in calories and fat (esp saturated fat), high in fibre and has about 7g  of protein. It has folate, manganese and betains from the beetroot,  vitamin c, carotenes, magnesium, copper, iron, potassium and calcium from the mint and calcium and probiotics from the yoghurt.

I’ve also been slightly addicted to baked / roasted carrot – I simply slice 2 carrots (horizontally or in half then vertically – both ways are good), add a little vegetable oil, a few little rocks of pink Himalayan salt, sprinkle liberally with ground cumin and bake for 20 minutes. It’s so delish that I haven’t taken a photo – it gets eaten straight away!

Leave a Reply

