Curried red lentils

This is an everyday meal, which I trialled tonight for future bulk cookups of work lunches. Happily, it was a successful trial!

It’s based on a recipe from “Fast Fresh Food” by George, Lewis and Pickford.

My version:
Finely chop 1 brown onion and pop it in a large-ish, fairly heavy bottomed saucepan. Add 2 tsp of minced garlic, 2 tsp minced ginger and 3 tbsp vegetable oil and fry on low heat for about 5 mins.

Once the onion is golden-translucent,  add in a 400g tin of diced tomatoes,  1 tbsp curry powder, 1 tsp turmeric,  1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp coriander powder and salt and pepper to taste.

After another 5 mins or so, add in 600ml vegetable stock and 250g pre-soaked red lentils. Cook for 20 mins or so, stirring occasionally.

image

I don’t often use cinnamon when cooking curry but it was a very welcome addition! (Note: not cinnamon sugar)

Optional: serve with yoghurt or sour cream and fresh coriander.

This makes at least 5 lunch-sized serves.

3 thoughts on “Curried red lentils

  1. I think that I have some red lentils in my cabinets that my daughter bought, but didn’t use, last summer. I’ll have to try this recipe sometime. It sounds delicious.

    • Thanks for stopping by Sheryl! That’s one of the things I love about lentils – I always have some lurking around the back of my cupboard, just waiting for me to find them and use them! 🙂

  2. Jess, thank you for stopping by on my blog and leaving such a sweet comment! I love curried meals and love using white beans, black beans, and, of course, lentils, like in your recipe! Such meals can be very filling without too many calories. What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

