Day 1: Juice and veggies

This post is a little delayed, sorry. Day 1 and the morning of day 2 were awesome, and then I came down with the cold that’s been threatening for weeks.. so was feeling way too sooky and grumpy to post last night! I’m pretty sure it’s the fact that I finished up work for a while that influenced the cold finally hitting, rather than the detox triggering it / me just experiencing detox symptoms.

So… day 1 went well!

Breakfast: Lemon in hot water (hubby made it with the juice of a whole lemon – jeepers!).

Lunch: This ‘mixed bag’ juice, which was pretty tasty (and more iridescently green than the pic shows!):

  • 2 stalks of celery, with leaves
  • 2 kiwi fruit (I love these guys – they’re little nutrition powerhouses!)
  • 1 small red apple
  • 1/2 peeled lemon (flesh  + juice)
  • About 10 mint leaves
  • About 1cm ginger, grated
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 1/4 cup water

20140418_142333

I made enough for one huge glass / two small, with the intention of having both, but hubby nicked one!

Dinner: Baked and steamed veggies, a la husband:

  • 2 thick slices of sweet potato, halved
  • 2 small chat potatoes (I know, normally avoided on detox)
  • 1/2 bulb garlic (another nutritional powerhouse!)
  • A really big handful of green beans
  • 4 Brussels sprouts
  • About 3/4 of a carrot
  • Black pepper

20140418_192258

Snacks: Button mushrooms, a plumb, lots of celery, a green tea…

Alcohol: 2 glasses of wine for dinner. Yep, on my first day I failed this hurdle! I finished the already-open bottle and hope that I won’t be reporting this again!

Exercise: A 45 minute fairly gentle yoga class that focused on my hips (where I tend to hold tension) and hamstrings: http://www.ekhartyoga.com/video/hips-hamstrings-class-1

Symptoms: I expected to crave my mornings coffees more than I did (win!) but had a definite headache by the afternoon. I missed breakfast because there was literally nothing in the house – we went fruit and veggie shopping before lunch – but I often do that. I became tired quite early, so went to bed about 9pm (win!). I realised the next morning that I’d gone waaay under with my calories, something that I didn’t want to do, so will make sure I have breakfast moving forward. All in all… a good day! I sprung out of bed the next morning 🙂

Note: Whenever I say juice, I actually mean smoothie – everything gets whacked into the blender, so I’m getting all that fibre goodness.

Leave a Reply

